FA Cup 1923-2000

The FA Cup Final finally ended its migratory ways when from the 1922-23 season it was decided to play the final at the new Empire Stadium at Wembley in North London.  Of course the White Horse Final has gone down in legend, with Bolton Wanderers beating West Ham United by two goals to nil but in truth that was just the start of the story.

In total, up to and including the 2000 final there were 72 FA Cup Finals played at Wembley.  Manchester United won the most finals over this period with nine wins.  The Final was replayed in 1970 when Chelsea defeated Leeds at Old Trafford.  All subsequent replays, in 1981, 82, 83, 90 & 93 were held at Wembley.

Team Wins
Manchester United 9
Arsenal 7
Tottenham Hotspur 6
Liverpool 5
Newcastle United 5
Bolton Wanderers 4
Everton 4
Chelsea 3
Manchester City 3
West Bromwich Albion 3
West Ham United 3
Sunderland 2
Wolverhampton Wanderers 2
Aston Villa 1
Blackburn Rovers 1
Blackpool 1
Cardiff City* 1
Charlton Athletic 1
Coventry City 1
Derby County 1
Ipswich Town 1
Leeds United 1
Nottingham Forest 1
Portsmouth 1
Preston North End 1
Sheffield United 1
Sheffield Wednesday 1
Southampton 1
Wimbledon 1

*1927 Winners - still the only time that the FA Cup has been won by a team from outside of England.

Leave a Reply