FA Cup pre 1923

Before 1923 the FA Cup had been played at a number of different grounds, notable amongst them Kennington Oval and Crystal Palace with 20 finals each.  Furthermore, Stamford Bridge was used along with Lillie Bridge (in Fulham, near to Stamford Bridge), Old Trafford, Fallowfield (also in Manchester) and Goodison Park.

During this time, replays were held at Kennington Oval, Crystal Palace, Burnden Park (Bolton), Bramall Lane (Sheffield), Old Trafford, Goodison and the County Cricket Ground Derby (also known as the Racecourse Ground).

No competition was held in seasons 1915-16 through to 1918-19 due to WWI.  There follows a list of winners in the first 47 seasons of the FA Cup:

Club Wins
Aston Villa 6
Blackburn Rovers 5
Wanderers* 5
Sheffield United 3
Bury 2
Old Etonians 2
The Wednesday 2
Tottenham Hotspur 2
West Bromwich Albion 2
Wolverhampton Wanderers 2
Barnsley 1
Blackburn Olympic 1
Bradford City 1
Burnley 1
Clapham Rovers 1
Everton 1
Huddersfield Town 1
Manchester City 1
Manchester United 1
Newcastle United 1
Nottingham Forest 1
Notts County 1
Old Carthusians 1
Oxford University 1
Preston North End$ 1
Royal Engineers 1

*First winners of the FA Cup 1871-72

$Double winners in season 1888-1889, the first of the Football League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *