The Football League 1888 – 1992

The Football League, Daddy of all football leagues the world over.  As every schoolboy knows (if they don't they bloody well should do) Preston North End were the first winners of the Football League in season 1888-89. To prove that it wasn't a fluke, they won it again the following year. Despite finishing runners-up for the next 3 seasons, they haven't won the top flight of English Football since.

After this late Victorian germination of an organised national league, the competition rapidly bloomed and flourished into a 92 team league of four divisions.  The first expansion came just after 4 years in 1892 when it absorbed the Football Alliance and  more than doubled in size.  Overall, the League Championship was played for 93 times over the next 103 years - even football had to stop for war.

Club Titles
Liverpool 18
Arsenal 10
Everton 9
Manchester United 7
Aston Villa 7
Sunderland 6
Newcastle United 4
Sheffield Wednesday 4
Huddersfield Town 3
Leeds United 3
Wolverhampton Wanderers 3
Blackburn Rovers 2
Burnley 2
Manchester City 2
Portsmouth 2
Derby County 2
Preston North End 2
Tottenham Hotspur 2
Chelsea 1
Nottingham Forest 1
Ipswich Town 1
Sheffield United 1
West Bromwich Albion 1

Leave a Reply