German Domestic

Germany's political upheavals over the period in which football has spread across the globe means that the only direct comparison to the English model, the Bundesliga, has only been contested since 1963.  In East Germany, the equivalent competition was played for between 1949 until 1991 when the league was dissolved.   Only two East German teams, Hansa Rostock and Dynamo Dresden joined the Bundesliga in its top tier for season 1991-92.

Since 1963, FC Bayern Munich holds the record number of titles with a whopping 21 wins.  The table below shows the teams to have won the title and the number of times that they have done so.

FC Bayern Munich 21
Borussia Mönchengladbach 5
Werder Bremen 4
Borussia Dortmund 4
VfB Stuttgart 3
Hamburger SV 3
Kaiserslautern 2
FC Köln 2
VfL Wolfsburg 1
TSV 1860 München 1
Eintracht Braunschweig 1
1. FC Nuremberg 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *