1889 Denmark

Formed in 1889, the Danish Football Association (Dansk Boldspil-Union or DBU) was the first non-British association. Based in the city of Brøndby, the DBU was a founder member of both FIFA in 1904 and UEFA in 1954.

Although founded in 1889, the DBU did not register games until the 1908 Olympic Games when they won the silver medal. In their quarter final and semi games the Danes scored 26 goals. They lost the gold medal match to Great Britain 2-0.

Leave a Reply